What's With Wally?

Warblings from Wally David

What do you have to be thankful for?

3 Comments

I have a simple question for you. It should be one that is easy to answer: What do you have to be thankful for?

My wife, Sara, sons Mike and Matt are all in relatively good health. I’m doing OK as well, though I do have the knees of an 80-year-old. My in-laws and my parents are all alive and kickin’, in their late 70’s and early 80’s. My brother and sister, as well as, Sara’s sisters and all the assorted nieces and nephews are all doing fine. For everyone’s relatively good health, I am thankful.

Speaking of health, Sara and I volunteered at the Family Fun Weekend put on by the National Multiple Sclerosis Society of Upstate New York (Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/MSupstateNY). Sara has worked for the NMSS for over six years, in a variety of roles. As her dutiful husband, I “volunteer” for the Bike MS and Walk MS events, as well as other assorted efforts throughout the year. However, this was my first Family Fun Weekend.

The Family Fun Weekend was held as a nice late-fall getaway for members of the MS Society and their families. It allows for the members with MS to get together with other members and socialize, play games, do crafts, and eat some really good food. I was humbled to be there and do what I could to make it a nice time. I was humbled because these wonderful people suffer from, to various degrees, a very difficult disease. Yet, to a person, they were in good spirits, friendly and so glad to be in each others’ company.

Not once did I hear anyone complain. No one bemoaned the fact that they might be in a wheelchair, use a cane, have difficulty seeing or need help feeding themselves. They didn’t let their disease get in the way of having a nice time with friends and family. To a person, their spirit was an inspiration.

So, as Sara and I headed to the car last Saturday afternoon, me with my achy knees of an 80-year-old, what went through my head? How much knees hurt? No. How lucky I am not to have MS? No. What went through my head was how lucky I was to have been in the company a wonderful group of people. For that, I am thankful. What do YOU have to be thankful for?

Happy Thanksgiving
Wally

Author: Wally David

I live in Rochester, NY. I am an IT professional with a very large payroll and human resources provider in Rochester, NY. I also am a former professional photographer, as well as, a drummer.

3 thoughts on “What do you have to be thankful for?

  1. I am thankful for my relationship with my brother, Wally, which has blossomed since we traveled together last year.

  2. I loved this, if you know me, for obvious reasons.

  3. I am thankful for my family – especially my husband, Wally.

Leave a Reply

