What's With Wally?

Warblings from Wally David

30 Years Ago Today…I Wept

Leave a comment

It Was 30 Years Ago Today…that the world lost a true part of its heart.

30 years ago today, John Lennon, former Beatle, and one of the best song writers of our time, was murdered.

I will never forget where I was or what I was doing when I heard the news. I was in bed. I was a senior in high school and had fallen asleep while listening to the Philadelphia Flyers ice hockey game on the radio. I woke up somewhere around 2 AM and turned the radio, expecting to find out the score of the game. Instead, my world was rocked.

I changed to the local all-news, all-the-time radio station in Philly, KYW 1060. I was so confused. I didn’t hear the familiar tick,tick,tick of the fake teletype machine in the background while a news anchor reads the latest news. I heard a Beatles song. HUH? Why would KYW be playing a Beatles tune? Maybe it was a 10 second clip in honor of a Beatles’ birthday. The song finished and the deep voiced new anchor said “For those of you just tuning in, it is unbelievable, but John Lennon has been shot dead.”

At approximately 10:50 pm on December 8th, 1980, as Lennon and his wife, Yoko Ono, returned to their New York apartment in The Dakota, Mark David Chapman shot Lennon in the back four times at the entrance to the apartment building. Lennon was taken to the emergency room of nearby Roosevelt Hospital and was pronounced dead on arrival at 11:07 pm.

I was devastated and in complete shock. I was 17 and a huge Beatles fan. While I was not old enough to enjoy the Beatles during their amazing time together, I loved them, as well as, Lennon’s solo work. I got up and played one Beatles album after another, listening to them with my huge, clunky headphones.

I did not sleep that night. I just wept.

Author: Wally David

I live in Rochester, NY. I am an IT professional with a very large payroll and human resources provider in Rochester, NY. I also am a former professional photographer, as well as, a drummer.

Leave a Reply

